Day 2 : If a relationship or job makes you unhappy, do you choose to stay or leave?

This question is actually really good.

I was always told to not stand for things that made you unhappy. Be it an activity, as person, a job or anything, I still hold the right to leave. Leaving is never easy, considering the repercussions.

SO what would I do? What would Shrey do?

I’d leave relationships…for most cases. There are exceptions (duh!). I leave relationships that don’t seem to have a purpose – basically my friendships in primary and secondary schools. How about those friendships that hurt me? I’d leave. I don’t like feeling vulnerable. In view that I’m not that affected by a lot of things, I’m not that easily hurt. So I’m vulnerable if you are able to hurt me. No one likes to put themselves in harm’s way – especially if it’s going to be a journey of sadness and pain. However, if the person means more than the hurt, if you know the person made a genuine mistake, I would be more than open to forgiving the person. It will take time to rebuild the relationship but all’s not lost. However, this only applies to a handful of people in my life.

How about jobs? This depends on the stakes. Let’s say there’s a high-paying job which lands you a nice apartment, good travelling opportunities etc. but with some sort of bad luck, you end up with a sensitive boss who swears and verbally abuses you because of mishaps. Now people, who have low tolerance, will leave the job. I won’t. I would stay on. There is a few reasons to this. What are you going to do after leaving the job after making such a hasty decisions? Do you have a back-up plan? Probably not. Especially seeing this is your dream job, can you really bear to leave it?  Even if you don’t end up doing something you love, the first two questions still apply. I would only leave, if I know I can get another job for sure. The feeling of stability is crucial for me. Although some can live in the moment and ‘go with the flow’, I can never do it.

Day 2 complete.

 

Leave a Reply

